Select Page

Historic Sites

Smellie Block, Russell, Manitoba

Angusville Heritage Hall

Angusville

The Ukrainian People’s Home of Ivan Franco is a Provincial Heritage site constructed in 1934 by members of the Ukrainian community of Angusville and surrounding area.  The building is adorned with three domes or “banyas” of a type more typically seen in Ukrainian Church architecture.  This is the only hall… » more

Arthur the Bull

Russell

This Town of Russell mascot has watched over the Yellowhead Highway for over 30 years. Arthur is named for Art Kinney, one of the founding members of the  Russell Beef & Barley Festival. Art also served as the mayor of Russell from 1975-1980 and was a founding member of the… » more

Asessippi Village Self-Guided Trail

Inglis

Some 50 Ontario homesteaders called this place home. Here visitors can look down into the winding Shell River valley at one of the earliest settlements in the Parkland region. Stroll through the west side of the village and read the nine on-site interpretive signs along the way that describe some… » more

Beth Naylor Historic Clothing Collection

Russell

The Beth Naylor Historic Clothing Collection opens a window to the past and into the lives of the people who lived there. It is a history that visitors will be able to relate to on a personal level—brought to life through authentic period clothing and accessories. Miss Naylor began collecting… » more

Boulton Manor

Russell

This important Russell house, located at 322 Memorial Avenue, was built in 1894 for Major and Mrs. Charles A. Boulton. Major Boulton was a soldier, settler and senator and one of the founders of the Town of Russell and Village of Shellmouth. He was a notable character opposed to Louis… » more

Dr. Barnardo Home

Russell

For thousands of Londoners and their descendants, Dr. Barnardo is a well-known name.  Homeless children from the streets of London were taken in and later sent to Homes in Canada.  While a hero to some, the stories of the children who were touched by his organizations had mixed outcomes. The… » more

Gordon Orr Museum

Binscarth

Mr. Gordon Orr purchased a building in Binscarth and moved his artifacts into it making a small display.  In 1983, a second larger building was purchased—the former North American Lumber Yard—and his artifacts were relocated.  Since then many community members have donated antiques.  In 1991, with the passing of Gordon… » more

Inglis Grain Elevators National Historic Site

Inglis

The Inglis Grain Elevators National Historic Site was officially recognized in 1996 as a unique and enduring architectural symbol, representing one of the most important periods in the development of Canada’s grain industry from 1900 to 1930. Thousands of these wooden grain elevators dotted the Prairies at the height of… » more

Knox United Church

Russell

Knox United Church was built in 1911 as a Presbyterian Church at a cost of $10,000, with $8,000 borrowed at an interest rate of 5½%.  In the 1920s the Presbyterian and Methodist Churches joined to become the United Church of Canada. The church building is made of brick, but due… » more

Millwood Bridge

Russell

Millwood was founded with the arrival of the railroad in 1885-86.  It was surveyed for two hundred lots and was planned as a divisional point for the railway.  At this time, there was a store, two hotels, a meat market and a livery barn.  However, the railroad changed its plans… » more
Next ›